Action Canada & National Association of Women and the Law respond to 2019 Canada Summer Jobs Program

Action Canada & National Association of Women and the Law respond to 2019 Canada Summer Jobs Program

December 2018

In response to the 2018 Canada Summer Jobs Program, Action Canada for Sexual Health and Rights (Action Canada) and the National Association of Women and the Law (NAWL) shared an open letter supporting changes made to the Program. A copy of the open letter can be found here.

The framework for the 2019 Canada Summer Jobs Program is now available. Like all previous programs, it includes an attestation that applicants must sign as a condition of funding. The 2019 Program requires that “any funding under the Canada Summer Jobs program will not be used to undermine or restrict the exercise of rights legally protected in Canada.” The 2019 application also clarifies that projects and job activities that: “restrict access to program, services, employment or otherwise discriminate, contrary to applicable laws, on the basis of prohibited grounds, including sex, religion, race, national or ethnic origin, colour, mental or physical disability, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, or genetic characteristics; advocate intolerance, discrimination and/or prejudice; or actively work to undermine or restrict a women’s access to sexual and reproductive health services” will not be eligible for grants from the 2019 Program.

Both Action Canada and NAWL support the attestation and eligibility criteria included in the 2019 Canada Summer Jobs Program.

The 2019 Program attestation and eligibility criteria will contribute to securing greater fulfillment of human rights in Canada in accordance with the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. The 2019 Program criteria are fully aligned with Canada’s existing domestic and international human rights obligations, including to protect and promote fundamental rights to security of the person, equality rights, the right to be free from discrimination, and the right to access accurate, evidence-based scientific and non-judgmental health information and services.

The provisions of the 2019 Program are not discriminatory; they are equality enhancing. As we have affirmed in the past, the Canada Summer Jobs funding conditions do not infringe freedom of religion, conscience, or any other rights that people in Canada enjoy. The safeguards put in place under the Program are designed to ensure that federal grant monies are not used to fund discriminatory activities that undermine women’s rights, or the human rights of any people in Canada, including as they relate to bodily autonomy, sexuality, gender identity and expression. 

Action Canada and NAWL welcome the steps taken by the federal government to ensure that the rights of all people in Canada are respected, protected and fulfilled.

← Previous

NAWL Speaking Out

Join Us
Join Us

Action Canada et l’Association nationale Femmes et Droit réagissent au programme Emplois d’été Canada de 2019

Action Canada et l’Association nationale Femmes et Droit réagissent au programme Emplois d’été Canada de 2019

Posted on décembre, 11 2018 by Action Canada

En réponse à l’annonce du programme Emplois d’été Canada de 2018, Action Canada pour la santé et les droits sexuels (Action Canada) et l’Association nationale Femmes et Droit (ANFD) ont publié une lettre ouverte appuyant les changements apportés à celui-ci. Cette lettre est accessible ici.

Le cadre de travail du programme de 2019 est à présent disponible. Comme par le passé, il comporte une attestation que doivent signer les demandeurs comme condition de financement. Le programme de 2019 stipule qu’« aucun financement dans le cadre du programme Emplois d’été Canada ne servira à affaiblir ou à restreindre l’exercice de droits légalement protégés au Canada » [trad.]. Le nouveau formulaire de demande précise également que les projets ou activités d’emploi qui « restreignent l’accès à des programmes, services ou emplois ou qui exercent, à l’encontre de lois applicables, une discrimination fondée sur des motifs prohibés comme le sexe, la religion, la race, l’origine nationale ou ethnique, la couleur, le handicap mental ou physique, l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité ou l’expression de genre, ou des caractéristiques génétiques; qui promeuvent l’intolérance, la discrimination et/ou les préjugés; ou qui empêchent ou limitent activement l’accès des femmes à des services de santé sexuelle et génésique » [trad.] ne seront pas admissibles à des subventions en vertu du programme de 2019.

Action Canada et l’ANFD appuient toutes deux l’attestation et les critères d’admissibilité du programme Emplois d’été Canada de 2019.

L’attestation et les critères d’admissibilité du programme de 2019 contribueront à une meilleure réalisation des droits de la personne au Canada, conformément à la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. Les critères de 2019 sont entièrement conformes aux obligations nationales et internationales du Canada en matière de droits de la personne, notamment celles de protéger et de promouvoir les droits fondamentaux à la sécurité de la personne, à l’égalité, à la protection contre la discrimination et à l’accès à des services et à des informations de santé qui soient scientifiques, exactes, fondées sur des données et exemptes de préjugés.

Les conditions du programme de 2019 ne sont pas discriminatoires; elles rehaussent l’égalité. Comme nous l’avons déjà signalé, les conditions de financement du programme Emplois d’été Canada ne portent pas atteinte à la liberté de religion ou de conscience, ni à aucun autre droit dont jouissent les individus au Canada. Les mesures de protection établies par le programme visent à assurer que l’argent du fédéral ne serve pas à des activités discriminatoires qui nuisent aux droits des femmes ou de tout individu au Canada, notamment en ce qui a trait à l’autonomie corporelle, à la sexualité ainsi qu’à l’identité et l’expression de genre.

Action Canada et l’ANFD saluent les mesures adoptées par le gouvernement fédéral pour assurer le respect, la protection et la réalisation des droits humains de tous les individus au Canada.

← Précédent

Nous joindre
Nous joindre