A Feminist Take on First Year Criminal Law

Posted 2011-09-20 in Research and Working Papers

A Feminist Take on First Year Criminal Law” was drafted for NAWL by Elizabeth Sheehy, in the summer of 2010.

Professor Sheehy teaches at the University of Ottawa faculty of law. Her work concentrates on legal responses to violence against women and she has been involved in many legal and activist endeavours. She was awarded an Honorary Doctorate in July 2005 by the Law Society of Upper Canada for her feminist activism in furtherance of women’s equality in law.

Professor Sheehy edited Adding Feminism to Law: The Contributions of Justice L’Heureux-Dubé, published by Irwin Law in 2004 and co-edited, with Professor Sheila McIntyre, Calling for Change: Women, Law and the Legal Profession, published by the University of Ottawa Press in 2006. She is currently working on her own book analyzing the trial transcripts of battered women charged with murder for killing their male partners.

“A Feminist Take on First Year Criminal Law” was drafted for the 2011 Edition of the Gender and the Law Manual published by the NAWL Charitable Trust for Research and Education. An abbreviated version can be found in the Manual, which is available in both French and English.

Click here for copy of full article (available in English only)

Un aperçu féministe sur le cours de droit pénal de première année

a posté 2011-09-20 dans Rapports de recherche

La professeure Elizabeth Sheehy, de l’ANFD, a élaboré un aperçu féministe sur le cours de droit pénal de première année.

La professeure Elizabeth Sheehy enseigne à la Faculté de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa. Sa recherche porte sur la violence contre les femmes et elle a été impliquée dans de nombreux projets juridiques et communautaires. Elle a reçu un doctorat honorifique du Barreau du Haut-Canada en juin 2005 pour son activisme féministe.

La professeure Sheehy était l’éditrice de « Adding Feminism to Law: The Contributions of Justice L’Heureux-Dubé » qui a été publié par Irwin Law on 2004 et était co-éditrice avec la professeure Sheila McIntyre de « Calling for Change: Women, Law and the Legal Profession » publié par la Presse de l’Université d’Ottawa on 2006. Elle travaille présentement sur un livre qui analyse les transcriptions des procès de femmes accusées de meurtre de leurs conjoints.

« A Feminist Take on First Year Criminal Law » a été rédigé pour l’Édition de 2011 de Le Droit à l’épreuve du genre, publié par le fonds de charité de l’ANFD pour la recherche et l’éduction. La version courte du texte se trouve dans le manuel.  

L’article est disponible ici (disponible seulement en anglais)