Women and Politics

  • Conservative Government Trying to Silence Women’s Groups

    In September 2006, NAWL was forced to shut its doors for one month because of delays in the approval of our Status of Women Canada funding application. On September 22, we were greatly relieved when the Honourable Bev Oda, Minister responsible for the Status of Women, confirmed that we would receive funding, albeit for only twelve months.

    Read more…

  • Coalition for Women’s Equality

    The Coalition for Women’s Equality (CWE) works with all political parties to create mechanisms that will ensure that the government delivers on the equality guarantees for women set out in the Canadian Charter, the Canadian Human Rights Act and in international agreements such as the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women.

    Read more…

  • Federal Elections

    In close collaboration with the Coalition for Women’s Equality (CWE), NAWL encourages women and women’s groups to get involved in federal elections and ask questions about women’s issues.

    Read more…

  • Electoral Reform

    In 2000, the Canadian Women’s March Committee’s published a document called “It’s Time for Change”. This document set out a list of demands for the Federal Government aimed at ending poverty and violence against women. However, few of these demands have been implemented.

    Read more…

  • Jurisfemme Articles on Women and Politics

    Winter 2006 “Coalition for Women’s Equality Makes Encouraging Progress”, by Charlotte Thibault

    Read more…

Les femmes et la politique

  • Le gouvernement conservateur tente de réduire les organisations de femmes au silence

    En septembre 2006, l’ANFD a été forcée de fermer ses portes durant quelques semaines suite aux délais dans l’approbation de notre demande de financement auprès de Condition féminine Canada. Le 22 septembre, nous avons été très soulagées d’apprendre que l’honorable Beverley Oda, ministre responsable de la [...]

    Lire la suite…

  • Coalition pour l’égalité des femmes

    La Coalition regroupe l’Alliance canadienne féministe pour l’action internationale, l’Institut canadien de recherche sur les femmes, la Fédération des femmes du Québec, Mediawatch, le Comité canadien d’action sur le statut de la femme, l’Association nationale Femmes et Droit, l’Organisation nationale [...]

    Lire la suite…

  • Élections fédérales

    Travaillant de près avec la Coalition pour l’égalité des femmes (CEF), l’ANFD encourage les femmes et les groupes de femmes à s’impliquer dans les élections fédérales et à poser des questions concernant les dossiers d’intérêt pour les femmes.

    Lire la suite…

  • Réforme électorale

    En 2000, le Comité canadien de la Marche des femmes a publié un document intitulé Pour que ça change!. Ce document dresse une liste de revendications faites auprès du gouvernement fédéral visant à mettre fin à la pauvreté et à la violence faite aux femmes. Toutefois, très peu des mesures revendiquées ont été adoptées.

    Lire la suite…

  • Jurisfemme : Articles sur les femmes et la politique

    Hiver 2006 « Bilan encourageant des activités de la Coalition pour l’égalité des femmes », par Charlotte Thibault

    Lire la suite…