Pay Equity

More than 25 years after the adoption of the Canadian Human Rights Act, women working full-time still earn 71% of men’s salaries, regardless of our age, occupation or education.

The Problem

More than 25 years the adoption of the Canadian Human Rights Act, women working full-time still earn 71% of men’s salaries, regardless of our age, occupation or education.

For women of colour, Aboriginal women and women with a disability, the wage gap is even greater.

The pay equity provisions in the Canada Human Rights Act are just not working! And the government has shelved the comprehensive Task Force report that tells them what to do about it.

Pay Equity Info Sheet (rtf) (pdf)

The Pay Equity Task Force Report

The federal government appointed a Pay Equity Task Force that issued its Report in the May 2004. The Report recommends adopting a new, stand-alone pay equity law that will cover women, as well as workers of colour, Aboriginal workers and workers with disabilities.

Although the Task Force recommendations are good news for women, they have not yet been implemented.

NAWL's Brief to The Pay Equity Task Force (doc)

NAWL's Recommendations on Pay Equity (doc) (pdf)

Pay Equity Task Force Report


Pay Equity Network Campaign

In 2005, a number of women’s organizations, provincial pay equity coalitions and the Canadian Labour Congress have formed a Network to pressure the federal government to take steps towards implementing this report. More than 200 women’s groups, labour unions and community organizations signed on to the Network’s Call to Action on Pay Equity.

On February 14th 2005, NAWL and the Pay Equity Network sent a Valentine’s Day card to every MP and Senator to remind them that Pay Equity is at the Heart of Equality

Members of the Pay Equity Network (rft)

Call to Action 2005: The Time for Pay Equity is Now! (rtf)

Signatories of the Call to Action (doc)

Valentine’s Day Card to MP’s (pdf)

Workshop on Pay Equity

In the spring of 2005, NAWL began a series of popular legal education workshops around women’s equality in the workforce and the federal pay equity system. Our goal: to share information with women’s organizations about the current pay equity framework, to learn from women’s experiences, and to mobilize different communities to lobby the federal government.


Supreme Court Decision on NAPE

On October 24, 2004, the Supreme Court of Canada ruled that because of an alleged impending ‘fiscal crisis’, the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador had the right to back out of an agreement to correct discriminatory wages for women health care workers.

This amounts to a special tax on Newfoundland women!

NAWL, in collaboration with the Newfoundland Advisory Council on the Status of Women, the Feminist Alliance for International Action (FAFIA) and the Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women (CRIAW) initiated a pan-Canadian campaign to protest. We urged then Prime Minister Paul Martin and Premier Danny Williams to pay back $80 million that is owed to women health care workers.

More than a 100 women’s groups, trade unions and other equality-seeking groups signed on to letters to then Prime Minister Paul Martin and Premier Danny Williams. The letters were delivered on December 10, 2004, the anniversary of the adoption of the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

NAPE Information sheet (doc)

Letter to PM Paul Martin (doc)

Letter to Premier Danny Williams (doc)

Status report on pay equity in Canada

NAWL, in collaboration with the Canadian Labour Congress, organized a meeting of the Pay Equity Network (PEN) in Ottawa on May 2nd, 2007. Approximately 40 representatives of the labour movement and of women’s groups from Québec and the rest of Canada met in Ottawa to discuss recent developments in their respective regions. Representatives of Bell Canada, Canada Post, Air Canada and Radio-Canada presented the current struggles in virtue of the regime established under the Canadian Human Rights Act. Their experiences spoke eloquently to the urgency for reforms to the federal pay equity regime.

After discussing recent developments within Canadian law and after taking stock of the recent report on pay equity produced by the International Labour Office, participants analysed the weaknesses of the proposals put forth by the current Conservative government in Ottawa. Finally, we took advantage of this opportunity to consolidate a network of activists in favour of a federal law on pay equity and refined our strategies in favour of legislative reform in this area.

On May 3, 2007, the NAWL and other members of the Pay Equity Network formed teams to meet with the three leaders of the opposition parties. Leaders Stéphane Dion, Gilles Duceppe, and Jack Layton each expressed their support for pro-active pay equity legislation at the federal level based on the recommendations of the Working Group on Pay Equity submitted in May 2004. This meeting was followed by a press conference whereat the Status of Women Critics from the three opposition parties, namely, Nicole Demers and Johanne Deschamps (BQ), Irene Mathyssen (NDP), Maria Minna (LIB), made statements on this issue. Director of Legislation and Law Reform for NAWL, Andrée Côté represented the Pay Equity Network. The Press Release issued by the PEN is available here.

On May 30, 2007, a delegation composed of representatives of the NAWL, CIAFT, PSAC and the FTQ was supposed to meet with Minister Blackburn in order to convey our frustrations regarding the inaction of the federal government on the issue of pay equity. The Minister failed to turn up due to a last minute change… consequently, we presented our recommendations to his political assistant and we met with a civil servant from the Ministry of Labour.


Press Releases about Pay Equity

December 21, 2005
Fa La La La La: Carollers to Herald Pay Equity

May 6, 2005 (Pay Equity Network)
Liberal Cabinet Ministers who have expressed their support for pay equity will be under scrutiny in the upcoming weeks…

May 5, 2005 (NAWL)
The Federal government must act now and adopt legislation to guarantee pay equity for all women…

February 14, 2005
A Valentine’s Day message to Parliament: show us you care!


Jurisfemme Articles

Winter 2006
”Government Inaction on Pay Equity”, by Andrée Côté

Spring 2005
“Balancing Budgets on the backs of women: Pay Equity Post-NAPE”, by Suzanne Bouclin

Spring 2005
“At the heart of human rights: the campaign for a pay equity law”, by Patricia Harewood

Fall 2004
“Pay Attention to Pay Inequity”, by Patricia Harewood

Fall 2002
“Pay Equity: Required Changes in Federal Jurisdictions”, by Louise Aucoin

Summer 2002
“The Struggle for Pay Equity in New Brunswick”, by Louise Aucoin (speaking notes)

Équité salariale

Plus de 25 ans après l'adoption de la Loi canadienne des droits, les femmes travaillant à plein temps gagnent encore 71% du salaire des hommes, quelle que soit notre âge, la profession ou l'éducation.

Le problème

Plus de 25 ans après l’adoption de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne, les femmes qui travaillent à temps plein gagnent encore, en moyenne, 71 cents pour chaque dollar gagné par les hommes, et ce, indépendamment de leur âge, profession ou formation. Pour les femmes de couleur, les femmes autochtones et les femmes handicapées, l’écart salarial est encore plus significatif.

Les dispositions de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne sur l’équité salariale ne sont tout simplement pas efficaces! Le gouvernement Libéral minoritaire avait annoncé son intention de déposer un Projet de loi sur l’équité salariale en 2006. Le gouvernement Harper honorera-t-il sa promesse électorale de respecter les droits des femmes… comme le droit à l’équité salariale?


Le Rapport du Groupe de travail sur l’équité salariale

Le gouvernement fédéral a mis sur pied un Groupe de travail sur l’équité salariale. L’ANFD a soumis un mémoire exhaustif à ce Groupe de travail. En mai 2004, le Groupe de travail a produit un Rapport qui recommande l’adoption d’une nouvelle loi spécifique à l’équité salariale. Cette loi incluerait dans son champ d’application les femmes ainsi que les membres de «minorités visibles», les peuples autochtones et les personnes handicapées.

Même si les recommandations du Groupe de travail représentent une victoire pour les femmes, le gouvernement n’a pas encore donné suite à celles-ci.


Campagne du Réseau pour l’équité salariale

En 2005, un certain nombre de groupes de femmes, des coalitions provinciales pour l’équité salariale et le Congrès du travail du Canada ont mis sur pied la Coalition pour l’équité salariale. La Coalition se donne comme mandat de faire pression sur le gouvernement fédéral pour qu’il donne suite aux recommandations du Rapport du Groupe de travail. Plus de deux cents groupes ont répondu à l’Appel à l’action du Réseau pour l’équité salariale.

Le 14 février 2005, l’ANFD et le Réseau pour l’équité salariale ont envoyé une carte de Saint-Valentin à l’ensemble des membres du Parlement et du Sénat pour leur rappeler que l'équité salariale est au cœur de l’égalité.


Atelier sur l’équité salariale

Au printemps 2005, l’ANFD a mis sur pied une série d’ateliers d’éducation juridique populaire ayant pour thème l’égalité des femmes au travail et le régime fédéral d’équité salariale. L’objectif : recueillir les expériences des femmes, partager des informations avec les groupes de femmes au sujet du cadre actuel d’équité salariale et mobiliser différentes communautés pour faire pression sur le gouvernement fédéral.


La décision de la Cour suprême dans NAPE

Le 24 octobre 2004, la Cour suprême du Canada a jugé que compte tenu d’une prétendue « crise fiscale » imminente, le Gouvernement de Terre-Neuve et Labrador était en droit de renier une entente conclue pour corriger les salaires discriminatoires de ses travailleuses du secteur de la santé.

Cela équivaut à une taxe spéciale sur les femmes de Terre-Neuve!

En collaboration avec le Newfoundland Advisory Council on the Status of Women, l’Alliance féministe pour l’action internationale et l’Institut canadien de recherche sur les femmes, l’ANFD a initié une campagne pan-canadienne pour signaler notre profond désaccord. La coalition a exhorté les premiers ministres d’alors Paul Martin et Danny Williams à remettre aux travailleuses du secteur de la santé les 80 millions de dollars qui leur sont dus.

Plus de 100 groupes de femmes, syndicats et autres groupes de défense du droit à l’égalité ont signé des lettres aux premiers ministres Paul Martin et Danny Williams. Les lettres ont été livrées le 10 décembre 2004, le jour de l’anniversaire de l’adoption de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies.


Le point sur l’équité salariale au Canada

Le 2 mai 2007, l'ANFD, en collaboration avec le Congrès du travail du Canada, organisait une réunion du Réseau pour l’équité salariale (RÉS). Une quarantaine de militantes et de militants du mouvement syndical et des groupes de femmes, du Québec et d’ailleurs au Canada se rencontraient à Ottawa pour faire le point sur les luttes menées dans leur région. Des représentantes et représentants des travailleuses de Bell Canada, Postes Canada, Air Canada et Radio-Canada ont fait état de leurs luttes actuelles sous le régime de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne. Leurs expériences témoignent de façon éloquente sur l’urgence de réformer le régime fédéral actuel d’équité salariale.

Après avoir discuté des développements récents en droit canadien et avoir passé en revue un récent rapport sur l’équité salariale du Bureau international du travail, nous avons analysé ensemble les lacunes des propositions mises de l’avant par le gouvernement conservateur à Ottawa. Finalement, nous avons profité de cette rencontre pour consolider le réseau de militantes et de militants pour une loi fédérale sur l’équité salariale, et nous avons peaufiné nos stratégies de réforme législative.

Le 3 mai 2007, l’ANFD et les autres membres du RÉS rencontraient les trois chefs des partis de l'Opposition, Messieurs Stéphane Dion, Gilles Duceppe et Jack Layton, qui nous ont tous fait part de leur soutien pour une loi fédérale pro-active sur l’équité salariale, basée sur les recommandations du Groupe de travail sur l’équité salariale, déposées en mai 2004. Cette rencontre a été suivie d’une conférence de presse au cours de laquelle les députées responsables de la Condition féminine des trois partis d’opposition, Mesdames Nicole Demers et Johanne Deschamps du Bloc, Irene Mathyssen du NPD et Marie Minna du Parti libéral, prenaient la parole. Andrée Côté, directrice des Affaires juridiques de l’ANFD, représentait le RÉS.

Le 30 mai 2007, une délégation composée de l’ANFD, du CIAFT, de l’AFPC et de la FTQ devait rencontrer le ministre Blackburn pour lui faire part de notre frustration face au manque d’action du gouvernement fédéral sur la question. Le ministre a toutefois eu un empêchement de dernière minute et ne s’est pas présenté… Nous avons néanmoins présenté nos recommandations à un adjoint politique du ministre et à une fonctionnaire du ministère du Travail. À suivre…


Communiqués de presse sur l’équité salariale


4 mai 2007 (Réseau pour l’équité salariale)
Les partis de l’opposition préconisent une nouvelle loi sur l’équité salariale

21 décembre 2005
Des « anges » de la Colline chantent pour l’équité
salariale


6 mai 2005 (Réseau pour l’équité salariale)
Les ministres libéraux qui se sont prononcés en faveur de l’équité salariale seront surveillés de près au cours des prochaines semaines…

5 mai 2005
Le gouvernement fédéral doit passer à l’acte et adopter une loi garantissant l’équité salariale à toutes les femmes… [Disponible en pdf seulement.]

14 février 2005
Message de la Saint-Valentin au Parlement: Ayez du coeur!

Jurisfemme - Articles sur l’équité salariale

Hiver 2006
« Inaction gouvernementale sur l’équité salariale », par Andrée Côte

Printemps 2005
« Équilibrer les budgets sur le dos des femmes: l’équité salariale post-NAPE », par Suzanne Bouclin

Printemps 2005
« Au cœur des droits de la personne : la campagne sur l’adoption d’une loi sur l’équité salariale », par Patricia Harewood

Automne 2004
« Prêtez attention à l’absence d’équité salariale », par Patricia Harewood

Automne 2002
« L’équité salariale : Modifications souhaitées dans le champ fédéral », par Louise Aucoin

Été 2002
« La lutte pour l’équité salariale au Nouveau-Brunswick », par Louise Aucoin (notes d’allocution)